How Many Divisions in Bangladesh?

Bangladesh is divided into several administrative regions known as “divisions.” These divisions serve as the highest-level administrative units in the country. As of now, there are 8 divisions in Bangladesh. Each division is further divided into districts, making it easier to manage and govern the country effectively. Understanding these divisions is essential for anyone interested in the political and administrative structure of Bangladesh. In this article, we will explore the names and significance of these divisions, providing a clear overview of Bangladesh’s administrative organization.

List of Divisions in Bangladesh

DivisionEst.Area (km2)[8]Population (2022)Density (people/
km2) (2022)
Barisal Division199313,225.209,100,102688
Chittagong Division182933,908.5533,202,326979
Dhaka Division182920,593.7444,215,1072,147
Khulna Division196022,284.2217,416,645782
Mymensingh Division201510,584.0612,225,4981,155
Rajshahi Division182918,153.0820,353,1191,121
Rangpur Division201016,184.9917,610,9561,088
Sylhet Division199612,635.2211,034,863873

Proposed Divisions

In response to the growing population and to make administrative tasks more manageable, two new divisions have been suggested:

  1. Meghna Division – It is planned to include the following six northern districts from the current Chittagong Division: Brahmanbaria, Chandpur, Comilla, Feni, Laxmipur, and Noakhali.
  2. Padma Division – This division is proposed to comprise Faridpur, Gopalganj, Madaripur, Rajbari, and Shariatpur districts.

The formation of these divisions was confirmed by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in October 2021.

How many divisions does BD have?

As of my last update in September 2021, Bangladesh has 8 divisions. These divisions are the highest-level administrative units in the country and are further subdivided into districts.

Which division is small in Bangladesh?

As of my last update in September 2021, the division in Bangladesh with the smallest area is Sylhet Division. Sylhet Division is located in the northeastern part of Bangladesh and is known for its picturesque landscapes, tea gardens, and cultural heritage.

How many provinces does Bangladesh have?

As of my last update in September 2021, Bangladesh does not have provinces. The administrative units in Bangladesh are called “divisions.” There are 8 divisions in Bangladesh, which are the highest-level administrative regions in the country. Each division is further divided into districts.

Which division is rich in Bangladesh?

As of my last update in September 2021, Dhaka Division is often considered the most economically prosperous division in Bangladesh. This is primarily because it includes the capital city, Dhaka, which is the economic and commercial hub of the country. Dhaka is a major center for industries, businesses, and trade, contributing significantly to the national economy.

However, it’s important to note that the economic conditions of regions can change over time, and there might be other divisions that have experienced growth and development since my last update. For the most current and accurate information, it’s recommended to refer to up-to-date sources and reports on the economic status of Bangladesh’s divisions.

Please note that administrative boundaries can change over time, so it’s a good idea to verify this information with a more current source to ensure accuracy.

Leave a Comment